Cisco Certified Network Associate: What types of jobs can you get?

Spread the love

Regardless of whether you have recently received CCNA certification, you are willing to take more responsibility in a network role or to specialize. At the beginning of your job search, there are particular job titles for the CCNA superior exams.

Cisco offers 10 CCNA certifications, each validating different qualifications:

  •         CCNA routing and switching
  •         CCDA
  •         CCNA Cloud
  •         CCNA Collaboration
  •         CCNA Cyber ​​Ops
  •         CCNA data center
  •         CCNA Industrial
  •         Wireless CCNA
  •         CCNA security
  •       CCNA service provider Jobs

It is common practice to group these certifications into the Preferred Certifications sections of a seemingly generic network administrator position. Most job titles are not what they seem. Network administrators or network engineers are collective terms that sometimes believe in their specialization. But sometimes employers make it easy to find a specialized job. In these cases, they use a more accurate job title.

These are some of these distinctive job titles that are distinguished by the required CCNA certification.

Few are…

CCNA Routing and Switching

The CCNA R & S validates the knowledge and skills that a network expert would acquire in his first years of work. During this time, they are usually responsible for support, help desk or even some system administration tasks. The most common job that you can do with a CCNA R & S is the network administrator.

Job titles related to CCNA R & S:

  1.       Network Administrator
  2.       Network Analyst
  3.       system administrator

Network administrators are responsible for the so-called infrastructure channels of business. They usually work behind the scenes to make sure everything is going well. System administrators handle computers, operating systems, and people. Network administrators manage routers, switches, and servers. In small businesses, network administrators can design networks. For the most part, however, they will serve all devices that transport traffic at home and abroad. In many cases, system locations displayed that also require CCNA.


The Cisco Certified Design Associate (CCDA) is a necessary certification for designers and support engineers involved in the Cisco network design. The CCDA deals with methods and considerations for designing and securing new networks and for upgrading existing systems. The CCDA is the first level of network design certification, followed by professional certificates (CCDP) and experts (CCDE). The typical role of a CCDA is to be a network engineer for a user organization, although the certificate also applies to sales engineers and systems that work with network drivers and consulting firms.

Job titles related to CCDA:

  1.       Network Design Engineer
  2.       Solutions Design Engineer
  3.       infrastructure engineer

It is also common among CCDAs in the list of preferred certifications for high-level network locations. Network engineers are responsible for configuring and managing the performance and security of business networks. The designer determines the equipment, software, and connections. The network engineers then work with the network administrator and support staff who install and operate the network daily.

CCNA Cloud

As companies increasingly adopt strategies in the cloud, network, and data center professionals must demonstrate that they have the knowledge and skills to work with public and private clouds. The CCNA Cloud certification applies to Cisco-based private and hybrid cloud environments based on its cloud infrastructure technologies: Cisco InterCloud, Unified Compute, Unified Fabric, and Unified Storage.

Job titles associated with CCNA Cloud:

  1.       Network Administrator
  2.       Cloud engineer
  3.       Cloud Architect

It is not unusual to see architects and security posts that prefer CCNA Cloud certification. The CCNA Cloud certification validates your cloud skills so you can establish yourself as an engineer or cloud administrator. Start with the necessary implementation and support of your Cisco-based cloud solution. You are expected to monitor utilization and performance and, once you gain experience, recommend steps to improve cloud efficiency, security, and endurance. Due to the proliferation of hybrid cloud configurations, CCNA Cloud certification may also be required or preferred for jobs such as network and data center administrators.

CCNA Security

CCNA Security is the certification that validates the skills required for entry-level security tasks. While CCNA Cyber ​​Ops certification focuses on securing the entire IT environment, CCNA Security focuses on the Cisco network.


Job titles related to CCNA Security:

  1.       Information security analyst
  2.       safety engineer
  3.       Network Security Engineer
  4.       Cybersecurity engineer

In small and medium businesses, security is likely to fall within the remit of the network administrator, while larger companies are likely to have cyber operations teams with specialized security administrators.

In the public sector, this security role assigned to the Information Assurance technicians who perform the network administration tasks related to security. Consulting and service companies are also on the market for security experts. In your case, you will see professional titles as safety analysts and safety engineers.

Security administrators (for lack of a better name) are the people who perform the day-to-day tasks associated with a system and network security. You configure and manage security tools such as firewalls and antivirus software, and you also ensure that network and information security policies adhered to. They are also “watchers on the wall” for Game of Thrones fans who oversee, defend and ward off external threats.


Job titles and responsibilities are not uniform and may depend on things like the size of the organization, whether it be about companies or government agencies, and what IT technologies and strategies they use.

We have labeled some job titles for each certification. However, it is better to look more closely at the certifications required for general positions as an administrator and network engineer. Certifications often specify the type of work you expect, even if the job title does not.


Comments are closed.