Yoga an Eternal Journey: What is and where it is from?

Spread the love

YOGA is traditional disciplines which origins from INDIA. The word Yoga is derived from the Sanskrit word “YUG” means UNION. One who practices yoga is called a Yogi or Yogini. Yoga is also associated with some medical practices in Buddhism and Hinduism.

There are many types of Yoga; 100 hour yoga teacher training in India covers some of its major branches are Raja Yoga, Karma Yoga, Jnana Yoga, Hatha Yoga, and Bhakti Yoga.

Karma Yoga – The Yoga of action. Some scholars divided the sacred book of Hindus Bhagwad Gita into three sections – Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, and Jnana Yoga.
Bhakti Yoga – The middle six chapters of Bhagwad Gita is Bhakti Yoga. The Yoga of devotion
Jnana Yoga – The last six chapters of Bhagwad Gita is Jnana Yoga. The Yoga of Knowledge.

The new age Yoga – Power Yoga 

Power yoga is active and frenetic. In Power Yoga, heavy emphasis is given on standing postures because moving legs gets your heart pump. The only way to do Power yoga is to work with yourself and not against yourself.

Major Aspects of Power Yoga

  • Increases Strength, Flexibility, and Endurance.
  • Promote Stamina and Weight Loss.
  • Improves your Body Posture and Balance.
  • Improves Blood Circulation and Immunity System.
  • Improves your Mental Concentration.
  • Decreases Stress.
  • Strengthens your Bones & Muscles.

Famous Yoga Types 

Bikram Yoga – It is also called as “Hot-Yoga” as it is ideally practiced in a room where the temperature is a 35-42°C. Bikram Yoga helps prevent respiratory problems, strengthens muscles, improve flexibility, Improves the sciatic Nerve flexibility and hamstring plus other leg muscles. Strengthens the abdominal Organs, spine and increases circulation in Spinal nerves.

Hatha Yoga – It is an old-style of 200 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh course that includes the practice of Yoga Asanas and Breathing asanas. It brings peace to the mind and prepares the body for spiritual practices. This yoga form is relatively gentle slow and great for beginners.

Ashtanga Yoga – This yoga is typically fast-paced, vigorous and physically challenging. There are six types of Ashtanga Yoga, the difficulty level increases from 1st to 6th.

Vini Yoga– Vini Yoga is the individualized style of yoga as exercise also known as Vinyasa Karma Yoga.

Sivananda Yoga – Form of Hatha Yoga founded by Swami Sivananda. This Yoga starts with relaxation Pose i.e. Savasana, this then moves with twelve asanas. Sivananda’s yoga has five main principle- Asanas, Pranayama, Savasana, Vegetarian and Vedanta

Kundalini Yoga – Incorporates repeated exercise and movements, breathing techniques, mantras, and chanting, meditation. Focuses on the energy of the spine through each of the seven chakras.

Anusara – Anusara is a new yoga form developed by American Yogi. Focuses more to open one’s heart. Experience the grace and let their inner goodness shine.

Iyengar Yoga – Developed and popularised by B.K.S Iyengar. Focuses more on Pose, proper alignment of the body. It is one of the best Yoga forms for injury and chronic diseases as it majorly concentrates on physical and mental relaxation.

Restorative – Best Yoga form to relax your nerve. This yoga uses bolsters, blankets, and blocks for yoga asanas. It is said that a good restorative class is more rejuvenating than a nap

Jivamukti Yoga – It is a physical, ethical and spiritual practice; its five central tenets are Shastras, Bhakti, Ahimsa, Nada, and Dhyana. It also focuses on veganism, environmentalism, animal rights. David Life and Sharon Gannon is the one who founded Jivamukti yoga form.

Yoga is not a religion. Yoga is a science practice to be healthy, look young and feel refresh from body and mind. It emphasis more on physical and mental health. Know more about Yoga, its types and benefits of yoga with 200-hour Yoga Teacher Training Rishikesh.

Comments are closed.